A celebration of resilience and success – Winners of 2014 NAB Women’s Agenda Leadership Awards

At a luncheon in Sydney today, the winners of the second annual NAB Women’s Agenda Leadership Awards were announced. The Hon Anna Bligh, Former Queensland Premier and now CEO of YWCA NSW had this to say:

“Coming from the tumultuous world of politics, I know how hard it is to keep going, to push through the difficult times and dust yourself off and get back up; only to face another stumbling bock or someone else telling you, ‘You can’t do it’”, Bligh said. “There are so many examples of women who have forged the path that we now walk whose achievements may not have been recognized and we salute them for their courage, their tenacity and their resilience. I congratulate every woman who has made the short list for the awards and every person who took the time to nominate someone they thought deserved recognition for their achievements.”

A quick note from LH Agenda…

Discover our 2024 Collection

LH Agenda 2024 Collection

Women’s Agenda received hundreds of nominations for the awards, with Editor and event host Angela Priestley saying the calibre of entrants exceeded expectations. “Just getting to the finalist stage is an incredible achievement given the number and quality of nominations received.”

The finalists and winners* of the second annual NAB Women’s Agenda Leadership Awards are:


Jane Wright/ Lauren Barel, Work Dynamic

* Bridget Loudon, Expert360 (Sydney, NSW)

Lorraine Murphy, The Remarkables Group

A quick note from LH Agenda…
Need more help managing the stress of life? Meet your everyday organisational support to build mental wellbeing and resilience through positive habits and daily rituals. Fit mind = fab life.
LHAGENDA- Mind By Design Mental Resilience collection

EMERGING LEADER in the Not-for-Profit Sector

Lisa Dempster Director/CEO, Melbourne Writers Festival

Anita Peiris Program Manager, Kalparrin

* Rachelle Towart, CEO, Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre (Canberra, ACT)

EMERGING LEADER in the Private Sector

Edyta Torpy, Diversity & Inclusiveness Leader,Oceania, EY

Tharani Jegatheeswaran National Director, NFP, Deloitte

* Fay Calderone, Director, Matthewsfolbigg lawyers (Parramatta, Sydney, NSW)


Tanya Dupagne, Camp Kulin Manager, Camp Kulin (Shire of Kulin)

Yvette Pietsch, Managing Principal, Central West, Crowe Horwath

* Zoe Waters Director, Volunteer Services, Barwon Health (Geelong, Melbourne, VIC)


Kate McClymont, Investigative Journalist, Fairfax

* Alison Monroe, General Manager, Sageco (Sydney, NSW)

Juliet Willetts, Research Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures at the University of Technology, Sydney

Lisa Messenger Founder & Director, Renegade Collective

EMERGING LEADER in the Public Sector

Jane Polak Scowcroft Manager, Web and Social Media, James Cook University

Karen Webb Commander, State Surveillance Branch, NSW Police Force

* Michelle Bennetts Executive GM, Aviation Rescue & Fire Fighting, Airservices Australia (Canberra, ACT)

BEST EMPLOYER initiative

* Caltex

Rice Warner

MENTOR of the Year

* Lynn Kraus Sydney Office Managing Partner, EY (Sydney, NSW)

Di Ryall Managing Director, Xplore for Success

Penny Munro Director of Allied Health, SA Health


David Overall Chief Executive Officer, Downer EDI Mining

Andrew Brewer Manager Kurnell Refinery, Caltex Kurnell Refinery (Sutherland Shire, Sydney, NSW)

(highly commended)

Amanda Mostyn Group Executive Human Resources, ASX

* Carol Schwartz AM Founding Chair, Women’s Leadership Institute, Australia (Melbourne, VIC).

Hall of Fame Entrant

Awarded to an inspiring woman who has made a significant and long-term business contribution

Winner – Ann Sherry, AO

Ann Sherry AO is a successful and highly effective business leader who has actively promoted gender equality throughout her career. She is currently the chief executive of Carnival Australia, the largest cruise ship operator in Australasia and prior to this spent 12 years working for Westpac.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners from the Leaders in Heels team!

photo credit: SalFalko via photopin cc